A Weekend of Running

Well that was fun!  Last night I participated in the Pacers mini relay.  I ran with Colleen and a one of her fellow Pacers Ambassadors, Blair.  The event was a three person relay, that started at the Pacers store in Alexandria.  From there, the first person ran to their store in Pentagon Row, the second person ran from there to their store in Logan Circle and the third person (me) ran from there to their store in Clarendon, where a party awaited.

Blair, Me and Colleen

It was a really fun event, I battled the Custis Trail/Lee Highway hill where my competitive streak came out and I would not let this other girl beat me.  I met some great people waiting in Logan Circle, including BethAnn Telforda brain cancer survivor, who was down to earth and fun, despite and probably because of what she has been through.

The party at the end of the run included free beer and a pint glass, we also got shirts from Ragnar Relay, one of the sponsors and Saucony, another sponsor.

then….

This morning I did my first official long run for my marathon training, 10 miles.  I ran with my great friends Mandy, Alex and Chelle.  We made our way through downtown DC to H street NE, where Alex provided restaurant  suggestions for my DC bachelorette party and then back down Pennsylvania Ave. to our meeting spot in Georgetown. I felt a little sluggish (probably due to the run last night) but a good start to the marathon training season.

I also got my Coach T. running shirt today, which I am excited to sport at my upcoming race with Mandy, the Firecracker 5K on the 4th of July.

My Team T running shirt

Now I’m off to Bend, OR for the week for a work staff retreat and a nice break from DC.

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Weekend of Running

  1. Way to ‘dig’ up that hill and kick that competitive spirit in high gear! Guess all those Arlington runs paid off — Walt would be so proud! 🙂 Kudos!! Can’t wait to see you sportin’ your CT style at the next race!

Leave a Reply

