Race Report – Firecracker 5k and a New PR

Yesterday, the 4th of July, I ran the Firecracker 5k put on by Potomac River Running Company.  This is only the third 5k I have ever done and my first one out in Reston.  I went on Tuesday night, battling traffic, to pick up my packet and to familiarize myself with the area, I wanted to know where I was going in the morning.  The race shirt was great, a Nike shirt which I love, and I got a pint glass for being one of the first 800 to pick up my stuff (score).

Race Swag

I woke up on the 4th and left with plenty of time to get to the race, wearing the best red, white and blue running outfit I could find in my drawer.  I had a friend running the race as well, but thought for sure I wouldn’t run into her and would be hanging out by myself until it started. Crazy enough I saw her drive past me in the parking garage and found her while we were hanging around before the start.  It was great to see her since, let’s face it, I haven’t been going to my running group.  I’ve come down with another injury (something I haven’t really told many people about because frankly I’m pissed) and I’ve been trying to recover.

For the first time I have been having IT band issues.  It is sooo frustrating.  I worked really hard to come back slow and smart from my strained quad in March.  However, after my 14 mile run in mid-June I knew something was up.  Since then I haven’t been running much and have instead been doing strengthening exercises, foam rolling and keeping in shape with 1-2 short runs/ week along with swimming and biking.  I’m up to running 5 miles before I start to feel tightness in the area, which is progress.

Because of this, I didn’t have high hopes for my time in this 5k, but I wanted to have fun and see how felt on the run.  It felt relatively cool at the start, but quickly the humidity took effect.  I started out a little fast and knew quickly I wouldn’t be able to hold that pace.  I slowed down and my legs felt great, but my stomach and breathing were clearly telling me I had not done speed work in a while.  I just told myself I had to beat the young boy with a cast who was running near me and I would be happy 🙂

That’s me in the red shorts

I ended up crossing the finish line with a time of 22.46 and beat my previous PR by 3.5 minutes!  Woohoo! I was the 63rd woman to finish and 11th in my age group.  I’ll take it!

Afterwards I hung around with my friend, Mandy for a while longer (she also had a great finish!) and then headed to the gym for a little cycling.

Now with my marathon training on hold, I am hoping to build up my miles sans injury to run the mini-marathon in Madison, August 18th and then we will see what happens after that.

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Race Report – Firecracker 5k and a New PR

  1. Kudos Lindsay!!! And ahh… so that is why I’ve been missing your smiling face. Hmm… keep me posted and keep in touch!!

Leave a Reply

