Almond Blackberry Cupcakes

Every month my office celebrates birthdays with homemade desserts.  The man in charge emails a quest for bakers and then we gather for celebration and amazing non store bought treats.  I LOVE to bake so I find myself volunteering quite often.  This month I chose to make cupcakes so that I could finally use the frosting bags and tips that my BFF gave me for my birthday.  Not sure why I hadn’t tried them out yet, maybe I was a little nervous, but I had so much fun decorating last night that I will be bringing a lot more cupcakes for my coworkers in the near future.

I decided to make a cupcake version of a recipe I pinned on Pinterest, they turned out great and I would definitely use this cake recipe again, it was moist and flavorful.

Almond Blackberry Cupcakes

recipe from isn’t everything in the kitchen trial and error

Makes 24 cupcakes

Cupcakes
Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups cake flour
1 cup whole milk, room temperature
6 egg whites, room temperature
2 teaspoons almond extract (I used 1 teaspoon and the flavor was strong enough for me)
1 teaspoons vanilla extract (I used 2 teaspoons)
1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, room temperature

Directions:

Set oven rack in the middle position. preheat oven to 350F. Line muffin tins with paper liners.

Whisk together milk, egg whites, and almond and vanilla extracts. set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. add butter and mix until it forms coarse wet crumbs.

Add all but 1/2 cup of the milk mixture and beat at medium speed for 1 1/2 minutes. add remaining milk mixture and beat another 1 minute.

Divide batter evenly among the two pans. smooth out the batter so it’s even in the pan.

Bake 20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

Let the cupcakes cool in the pan a couple minutes before removing. cool completely on a wire rack, frost with blackberry buttercream.

Unfrosted

Blackberry Buttercream
Ingredients:

2 sticks (1 cup) butter, room temperature
6 cups confectioners sugar
6 tablespoons strained blackberry puree (See below)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract

Directions:

Beat butter on medium speed until fluffy, about 2 minutes.

Slowly add 1 cup sugar and beat until smooth.

Add blackberry puree, vanilla, and almond until blended.

Add remaining sugar half a cup at a time, blending after each addition.

When all the sugar is added, beat on medium high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Pretty frosting

Making Blackberry Puree

I used 2 package of blackberries and it definitely made more than needed so now I am looking for more recipes!

Process the berries in a food processor until they become liquid.

Strain the liquid through a fine mesh sieve, using a small spatula or spoon to mix around and work liquid through until only seeds remain.

Discard seeds.  Keep extra puree in an airtight container in the fridge.

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Baking, Weekend Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Almond Blackberry Cupcakes

  1. These look great – nice job on the decorating!

Leave a Reply

