Yep, I made Scotcheroos!

A friend from work, who grew up in Wisconsin (Yeah!) is moving to Michigan with his girlfriend and tonight we are throwing a going away party for him.  I promised to bring a traditional midwestern dessert.  Every potluck or party I have been to Wisconsin of Minnesota always includes some form of Scotcheroo or Special K bars (the same thing only with Special K cereal).  So I figured these would be perfect, plus they are super easy.

Word to the wise, I always forget how long it takes to cut these bad boys.  I have read online that some people line the baking dish with foil and grease that so that they can just pull the bars out and cut them outside of the pan.  I really need to remember to do this.  I was in a hurry this morning and it still took me 20 minutes to cut these and they didn’t end up very pretty….. they still taste amazing though.

I even packed them in my orange Tupperware, inherited from my grandma…. how appropriate is that!

Scotcheroos

Scotcheroos

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar

1 cup light corn syrup

1 cup creamy peanut butter

6 cups Rice Crispies

1/2 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 bag butterscotch chips

Directions:

Grease a 9×13 inch baking dish

Combine sugar and corn syrup in a large pan set over medium heat.  Stirring frequently, heat until sugar dissolves and mixture begins to boil.  Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter

Stir in Rice Crispies until they are completely coated (this is why you need a large pan) and press into prepared pan.  I use a spatula to do this, you can also use wax paper.

Melt chocolate and butterscotch chips together in a microwave safe bowl.  I do this for 30 seconds at a time removing and stirring after each 30 seconds to avoid burning the chocolate.

Spread chocolate and butterscotch mixture over Rice Crispies and wait until it hardens.  Then cut into bars and enjoy!

 

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

