Goggle Marks Until Lunch Time

I grew up a swimmer.  For 13 years of my life I got up at 6:00am 6 days of the week in the summer and went to practice or a meet and every day after school during the rest of the year I went to practice and spent hours playing Euchre between events at 6-8 hour long meets once or twice a month.  During high school I practiced twice a day some days with multiple competitions in a week.  When I swam my last race at All City the summer after I graduated, I was ready to be done.  I was not fast enough to make the team at Minnesota and I was tired.

Since then, I have occasionally gotten the urge to swim some laps, watching meets on TV and the Olympics sometimes cause this.  I’ll go the store buy a new suit and cap, scour online for my Speedo sprint goggles, which apparently no one wears anymore but are the only ones that I like, and swim for about 20 minutes, get bored and then put away my swim bag for another year or two.

That all changed this summer.  Maybe something happened when I turned the big 3-0 or maybe it is all the injuries I have faced in running this year and the need to keep in shape.  Who knows?  But I have actually been consistent in my swimming and have been having fun doing it!  I make it to the pool at my gym 2-3 mornings a week for 45-60 minutes.  I started making up workouts for myself and recently found these Masters workouts online.  We’ll see how long this lasts this time, but I’m hopeful I can stick with it.

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Swimming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

