Race Report: Giving Thanks 5k

On Thanksgiving I love doing Turkey Trots.  If I am at home in Madison, I will do the Berbee Derby, last year Dan and I stayed in Virgina and we walked the Arlington Turkey Trot together (I was still recovering from my surgery), this year I found a small race, the Giving Thanks 5k in Vienna with the starting line only 3 miles from my house, perfect.  I decided to run there, race and run home to give myself a nice 9 mile run before over indulging in food and snacks for the day.

The race was very well organized and ran along the W&OD trail.  The first half mile went through the neighborhoods before meeting up with the trail, and let me tell you, I did not know Vienna had that many hills.  We went straight up and then back down again twice before heading downhill on the trail, at the turn around you could really feel the uphill on the way back.  I decided that I didn’t need to sprint and was remembering why I never run that direction on the W&OD because the hill back is unforgiving.  I ended up coasting into the finish with a new PR (who’d have thought) 22:35, good enough for 2nd in the my age group and 6th overall female.

After the race I waited around a bit for the awards ceremony, but then I got really cold and decided to head home, it was a slow run back, but a great overall morning before turkey and football.

Beware: Official race photos, which are never flattering

That’s me with the grey hat on (and the 8 year old who would not let me pass)

I think at this point I was trying to defrost my hands, despite the gloves, it was really brisk out that morning….. again the 8 year old would not let me pass.

 

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Race Report: Giving Thanks 5k

  1. Great job Linds! Sounds like a fun Turkey Day race!

  2. Way to trot through the chill for a PR!!

  3. Pingback: Happy New Year « Lindsay Margaret

Leave a Reply

