Fitness Goals

Recently at my gym we have been talking a lot about goals.  One of the instructors recently completed his first Ironman and told our spinning class that 18 months prior he had never run longer than 8 miles or biked longer than 35.  Urging us all that you can attain your goals if you put your mind to it.  Another instructor then laid out her goal of running a 50 mile race summer and others followed with theirs.  This made me think…. what are my fitness goals for this coming year?

Although I know these will probably change, this is what I have laid out for myself so far:

Running:  I have entered the lottery drawing for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in DC in April, if I get in, my goal would be to finally break 1:40 in that distance.  I also plan on signing up for my first marathon in 2 years, the Shamrock Marathon in Virginia Beach on St. Patrick’s Day.  I have signed on again to run with Potomac River Running Company’s distance training program with track workouts and long runs with a group, my goal will be to better my previous time of 3:40 and maybe qualify for Boston by breaking 3:35.  After this spring I am kind of up in the air.  Dan and I don’t know where we will be living, but I have my eyes on the Twin Cities Marathon in early October.

Group Exercise:  I have really grown to love group classes at the gym.  They got me through my surgery last fall, helped me recover and run strong this past spring and summer, made me strong and toned for my wedding and continue to inspire me to get up and go to the gym every morning.  The people I have met have been so friendly and motivating.  I have gained a friend to go running with and people who care enough to throw a Body Pump bridal shower for us as well as send condolence or birthday cards to the regular “morning crew.”  My goal this year is to continue to love spinning and RPM, grow even stronger from Body Pump, maybe bring my dance background back and try out Body Jam, but also later in the year figure out how I can give back and maybe look into teaching.  It was very rewarding to me to coach my summer swim team after having swum there for 13 summers.

Who needs to wait until New Years to make goals for yourself for the coming year, what are yours?

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fitness Goals

  1. Nice post – looks like a great race schedule for next year! I entered the Nike Women’s lottery too, but am planning on the Alexandria Running Festival Half if I don’t get in for that race. I have my guaranteed entry for MCM next year, so I’m planning on that for my marathon and am still thinking about what smaller races to do throughout the year! I’m looking at throwing a triathlon into the mix next year too!

Leave a Reply

