Baked Oatmeal

Usually when I am getting ready for work in the morning I’m rushed and often running late (which, if you know me, I hate).  I barely have enough time after getting my workout done to get home shower and head out the door to get to work in time.  Therefore, breakfast is always in a hurry and if I want something warm and hearty like oatmeal I have to shovel it down quickly.  Baked oatmeal has solved this problem, I can make a whole dish which amounts to about 6 servings and heat it up every morning for breakfast.

I have seen recipes for baked oatmeal for a while, but haven’t tried them because they have heavy cream in them or a lot of sugar and butter, but recently I came across a recipe that I had to try.

I substituted ingredients based on what I had in my house and you can definitely use anything you would like in this recipes, different fruits, spices and additions like flax seeds.

DSC_8099

Bake Oatmeal

recipe adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

Ingredients:

2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (do not substitute quick oats)

roughly ½ cup slivered almonds

1½ teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon sea salt

2 cups low-fat milk

⅓ cup pure maple syrup

1 egg

1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 fuji apples, peeled, cored and cut into ½-inch pieces (use as much as you need to layer the bottom of the baking dish

1cup Craisins, divided

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease an 8-inch or 9-inch baking dish; set aside.

In a medium bowl, stir together the oats, half of the almonds, cinnamon, baking powder and salt; set aside.

In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the milk, maple syrup, egg, melted butter and vanilla.

Arrange the sliced apples in a single layer on the bottom of the baking dish. Sprinkle roughly half of the Craisins over top of the apples. Cover the apples and Craisins with the oat mixture, spreading it into an even layer. Slowly drizzle the milk mixture all over the top of the oats. Rap the baking dish on the counter a couple of time to disperse the milk among the oats. Sprinkle the top with the remaining almonds and Craisins.

5. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and the oatmeal mixture is set. Remove from the oven and let sit for at least 5 minutes before serving.

DSC_8124

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

