Running Solo

This past weekend was a “recovery week” in my marathon training so I had only 16 miles to run instead of the previous week’s 20 miles.  A few of my running partners who I usually meet up with for my long runs were out this week traveling and, unfortunately, nursing some injuries, so I took this opportunity to tackle a long run solo.

I usually hate doing long runs by myself.  I have struggled with training alone in the past, my mind likes to play games and that has been a hurdle for me.  However, I know the marathon is going to be a solo race and I am going to have to get through those head games that strike around mile 18, so I set out Saturday morning on my own.

I hadn’t run the W&OD trail by my house in a while and knew the hills would be good for me.  I welcomed the excuse of the alone time to listen to my book and worked on keeping my pace slower than I normally run on the trail, knowing that my plan called for the last four miles at marathon pace.  I cruised through the miles, fending off my usual mental blocks and for the first time, in a long time, I wasn’t willing myself to the end.  Even when I had to pick up the pace, I was able to hold it pretty steady, a little faster than I plan on running the marathon at, and felt great when I finished.

This was the run that I needed.  It was a total confidence booster for the 26.2 miles that I will be taking on in a little over a month.  My training has been going great (knock on wood), I have been cross training, a first for me, and I finally got a chiropractor to work out the kinks in my hip so I don’t experience such tightness in my hamstring during the later miles.  I’m getting even more excited for my race and will remember this run around mile 23 when all I want to do is finish!

BRING IT ON MARATHON, I’m not scared any more!

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Running, Weekend Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running Solo

  1. candidkay says:

    I’m in awe of people who run that far. It takes a stamina I still search for. Best of luck to you.

  2. Woo, nice run! You’re going to crush it on race day!

  3. You are so ready to rock the RnR! Can’t wait to rally you to the finish line!!

Leave a Reply

