Taper Time

It’s taper time, those last 3 weeks before a big event where you let your body rest. At this time no additional hard training will improve your fitness for the big day.

The Rock n Roll USA marathon in just under 2 weeks away. I have said good bye to Bodypump and spinning for these weeks and have lowered my mileage on runs. I am eating lots of protein and amino acids while also trying to eat for my current activity and not my usual weekly exercise.

I know I will feel overly energetic, but also somewhat lethargic during this time, however that is how I prepare my body for running the marathon. I am also using this time to visualize my race and plan for the days leading up to it.

Now I’m just counting down the days until March 16th.

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

