To Run or Not to Run

To run or not to run, that is the question I have been battling since last weekend.  I was feeling better with the calf injury and then I felt a setback last week.  I did a short run on the treadmill on Tuesday and felt fine, on Wednesday night my leg felt a little off during a short run and on Thursday I tried a few marathon pace miles at the track and it was just annoying, I could feel the knot in my leg, it wasn’t painful to run, but afterwards I was walking with pain again.

Friday morning, feeling defeated, I went to the chiropractor to have him work on the muscle again and he told me to take it easy until the race.  I should rest all weekend and maybe try for a short run midweek to see how I feel.  I also decided on Friday to finally purchase some compression sleeves to try and speed along the healing process.

Then, I began to worry, what if running on my calf makes the injury worse, turning what could be a 2 week recovery into a 2 month recovery.  I started to read horror stories online (stupid, stupid, stupid) and was really questioning if this was a good idea, while sending myself into an emotional roller coaster.

I made a deal with Dan that in addition to seeing the chiropractor 2 more times this week before the race, I would make an appointment with the orthopedist to ask their opinion.

This morning I went to the chiropractor and he worked on the knots in my calf some more and did the ultrasound machine, telling me my leg felt a lot better.  In his opinion if I do a short run tomorrow and it doesn’t hurt I am fine to run the marathon and it will not do any further damage to calf.  Tonight I have the orthopedist appointment, so we will see what he says.

I am not letting myself get excited for the race yet, which sucks, I have been resting and in taper mode so I can’t exercise the frustration away, so fingers crossed I get the go-ahead and I can start to prep for the race on Saturday.

Here’s to hoping for good news!

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in life, Running, Weekend Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

