Injuries Suck!

Yesterday my fear of having a stress fracture was confirmed.  Last week I had a bone scan done because x-rays didn’t show anything.  I was convinced I didn’t have one and that my issues were muscle related, however I had followed my doctor’s orders and hadn’t run since my race 2.5 weeks ago.  I stayed active on the spin bike and have been doing a lot of core work.

During my lunch hour yesterday my doctor called with the results of the test, I did in fact have a stress fracture in my tibia. With the most arrogant tone and worst “bedside manner”* he told me i had to stay off of it for 3 months, 3 months?  Everyone else I know, including my sister and my husband, who have had this injury were told 6-8 weeks.  Anyways I proceeded to ask questions about how bad it was, activities I could do etc, and he just wasn’t listening to me.  Basically I can do anything that doesn’t pound on my leg, good news as I can return to bodypump, spinning classes and start doing yoga, but I”m not so sure I’m satisfied with the information he gave me about healing time.

Anyways, after a long text conversation with my sister, I think I am going to seek a second opinion, I know I have a stress fracture I just don’t think I received adequate information and am currently looking for a new doctor.  On a more positive note I am going to use the slow come back to running to really work on my form, since I have been plagued with injuries for the last two years I think I have my work cut out for me.

Have you ever gone to get a second opinion for a new doctor?  How did it go?

*I have actually read reviews and know someone who has seen this same doctor and all agreed he was an arrogant jerk, so it’s not just me.

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in Fitness, life, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Injuries Suck!

  1. A second opinion is always a good idea, as everybody can be mistaken.

  2. johnawoods says:

    Any doctor who acts arrogantly has something to hide. You don’t discount your patients if you have self confidence. This doctor may be unaware that doctors do not heal patients. The facilitate the patient healing him or herself, and the best do it with intelligence and compassion.

  3. Pingback: A New Love of Yoga? | Flour, Sugar, Eggs, Running

Leave a Reply

