A New Perspective on Life

Recently, I have learned that two people I know in their early 30’s have been diagnosed with stage 4 cancer.  One, the husband of a childhood friend, the other a good friend and sorority sister from college.  Both have small children at home and are hoping for the best from their treatment plans.

My college friend has beat this dreaded disease once before however, the prognosis this time around is not so promising.  A group of amazing girls from school and I have joined together to do all we can for our friend and her family, coming up with monthly gifts and daily notes of encouragement and love.

The news of these two people being diagnosed, with such young families and so much life left ahead of them, has left me numb.  It has made me think about my own life, am I following my dreams, what are my goals, am I in a happy place?

I’ve taken a new perspective on life. I want to be happy, to not sweat the small stuff, and to not take for granted all the good things that I have.  I don’t need to get stressed out if the metro is late, traffic is backed up, I’m not on time to things or work is a little hectic. I have an amazing husband, a great family and awesome friends.  There are a few things that I am ready to change and Dan and I are making some plans, which is exciting.

It’s crazy and sad the things that make you look at your life.

About LindsayMargaret

Runner, baker, lover of the outdoors, PR professional living in Washington DC
This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Perspective on Life

  1. johnawoods says:

    Lindsay you are amazing and make me very proud.

Leave a Reply

